Working with Profiles

Reltio platform provides the ability to manage a variety of data entities using Hub. A profile is a collection of all the data associated with an entity.

Profiles contain the attributes for an entity, relationships for an entity, and sources for all of the attributes. It is possible that an entity attribute can have multiple sources and multiple values. The Operational Value (OV) is the current value for a given attribute, as defined by the survivorship rule for the attribute. The Profile pages enable you to view and manage the details for each entity in your tenant.

Select Profile from the main menu to display the Profile view.

Reltio Connected Customer 360 supports two basic approaches for working with profiles in the user interface:

  1. Using Common mode - Common Mode is the original approach used for profiles. This is a single profile view, which allows users to view and edit profiles (along with their attributes) using in-place editing. Although this approach is fully supported, Reltio platform recommends using the Viewing/Editing modes as those provide more flexibility and better user experience. For details see Editing Profiles.
  2. Using Viewing/Editing modes - Use either Viewing or Editing mode to work on a profile. This is an advanced approach for working with profiles. You can explicitly choose to view a profile, to edit the profile (or suggest changes), or to delete the profile.

You can configure your tenant to use either the Common mode or the Viewing/Editing modes.

Viewing Mode

The View mode provides a read-only display of the Profile.

This layout is similar to the Common mode, with the exception that there are no editing features. This mode is a good choice for any user who wants to only view a profile or does not have the privileges to edit the profile.

Editing Mode

The Edit mode allows attribute values and relationships to be edited in the Profile view.

In this mode, all changes made to a profile will be saved as one transaction and will be available as a single item in history.

Important: There is an exception: If the field is auto-generated, it is read-only if there are no existing ID values for the field.

Users with no editing privileges can be granted special privileges to suggest changes, that is, initiate Data Change Requests. For such users this mode will be represented as Suggest mode.

Note: A Data Change Request is a collection of suggested data changes. Users who do not have rights to update objects can suggest changes. These suggested changes are accumulated in Data Change Requests queued for review and approval by people with approval privileges.

Related Videos